Amazon Reviews

AMAZON REVIEWS for Things I Wish My Mother Had Said … (or maybe she did)

5.0 out of 5 stars  Must read for mothers and daughters, May 17, 2013

By V. Petrosia –

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

The author gives personal anecdotes along with life lessons. Both entertaining and uplifting.The chapters are short but full of practical advice, without being preachy. The original artwork makes it a beautiful book to read.I highly recomend this book to mothers and daughters alike.

————————————————————————————

Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did), May 14, 2013

By Bored86 – This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

On point. All sensible self improvement techniques that are easily implemented. The thoughts are relayed in an easy to read manner with a touch of humor and lots of love. It is evident that the author valued her Mom’s “teachings” and has benefited from her knowledge. Clearly Genie and her Mom had a very special relationship. We should all be so lucky to have such a woman in our lives. Nice job Genie…..Is there a sequel?

————————————————————————————–

Delightful, January 11, 2014

By Barbara L

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

Well written. Well designed. Well told. This work is a gently-flowing, gently-unfolding story about Genie Lee Perron’s deep love for her mother and appreciation of her mother’s teachings. Do not allow the author’s comment “the thoughts contained here are not necessarily unique” prevent you from reading this material. Yes, many spiritual concepts that all of us know and understand are discussed. However, they are presented in an understated, gentle way that causes one to sigh and think, “Yes, I know about this.” The author makes these discussions unique by adding the comments her mother made about them and by giving us practical ways to put these principles into everyday life. I liked the way the author’s mother used electricity to explain God, explained that joy is the purpose of life and instructed her author-daughter to observe without judging. I want to revisit this work and when I do spend more time with “Hate destroys the vessel in which it’s stored and not the one on which it’s poured” and the reminder to “Tell Your Story The Way You Want It To Be”.

—————————————————————-

— Life’s Big Questions!, January 7, 2014

 

By Brelliott – See all my reviews

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

Genie Lee Perron gracefully takes you through the times of good and not so good with the knowledge of rising above your challenge by embracing a “take charge attitude” of thinking positively. Concentrating on the good each and every day is highly pronounced as a “must be” to rising above the negatives in life.

Don’t hesitate to pick up these words of wisdom. After I read it I felt a surge of positivity. Mind over matter. She reminds us we can do anything we set our minds to. I know her warm relationship with her mother as I had the same with mine.

Kudos!

—————————————————————

 

Feels SOO good!, January 9, 2014

By Cristina – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

I love this book! I love the stories, I love the graphic, I love the quotes. Most of all I am DELIGHTED with the feeling I have when I see all of it put TOGETHER! A sweet, wise, fun masterpiece!

 

———————————–

Some very good insights, January 9, 2014

By Vickie (Eastern Time Zone) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

With gentle thoughts and delightful artwork that are uplifting—being grateful in all things, talking and truly being nice to yourself, meditating about your life and being quiet, etc.—this book draws you back to aspects of your life that are important, yet often overlooked or forgotten.

Author Genie Lee Perron took me on a journey that helped me to re-evaluate my thoughts, my attitude, and outlook, encouraging me to look for the positives in life. They are there but often easy to miss. This book helps to give me a much-needed adjustment like remembering the past is in the past and I cannot do anything about it, but I can embrace today, enjoy its moments, look for the positives, and make a difference. In fact, one of my favorite sayings in her book is one accredited to Voltaire, “I have decided to be happy because it is good for my health.” Enough said!

If you are looking for some simple inspiration that works wonders for your outlook on your life and of those around you, buy this book. It is easy to read and won’t take you long, but it will pay you back in big dividends.

————————————

Outstandig, January 7, 2014

By Richard Parenti – See all my reviews

(REAL NAME)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

I just read “Things I Wish my Mother had Said” by Genie Lee Perron. It is an incredible story of how she has skillfully interwoven her personal story alongside the wisdom passed on from her mother. Want to find useful, practical tools on how to apply advanced metaphysical principles in your life in an easy-flowing writing style? Well, here’s a great opportunity as her book is expertly written with passion and sincerity in a practical, easy to read format. I love your work Genie. You have a true gift of writing, not to mention I love your artwork… This is a must read for those on the leading edge of thought.

———————————————–

 

Genie is a wonderful writer!, August 26, 2013

By Lori Beth Clark (Michigan) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

This book is so uplifting and inspirational. The artwork is beautiful. I wish my mom had told me the things Ms. Perron writes about too (and maybe she did). Very affirming and positive. I highly recommend reading this book and buying copies to give to your friends as gifts.

—————————————

Here are the tools you need to build your lovely life, February 15, 2014

By JM (California United States) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

This book is filled with delightful insights. I love how the author set up the chapters – each with its own message and ways to achieve it (peace, living in the present, meditation, etc.) This book can be read in one sitting or studied chapter by chapter. The author pulled together ideas from many spiritual leaders that I admire and put her own spin on it as it relates to lessons from her mother and how she applies all of this in her own life. The illustrations are charming! I highly recommend this inspiring book.

—————————-

Beautiful, Inside and Out!, January 23, 2014

By Parent “reader” (Sagamore Beach, MA) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

Knowing Genie, the author of this book, it’s easy to see why it’s selling like hot cakes! She’s witty, insightful, inspirational, entertaining and enlightening. Her writing is articulate and her artwork is whimsical yet sophisticated. Genie brings magic to the pages of her book through her artwork as she highlights her mother’s creativity and wisdom. Counting her blessings as a cancer survivor, Genie Perron is beautiful inside and out, just like her book. Read in small chapters or in it’s entirety, it’s a book for all to enjoy. And like I said when I was asked to endorse this book, “A must read for every mother and every daughter – and for everyone devoted to living each and every moment to the fullest.”

——————————————-

Great little book and masterful approach to life, January 20, 2014

By Julie Nierenberg (Toronto, ON (Canada)) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

What a refreshingly told (and illustrated!) book of wisdom Genie Lee Perron has composed! This would make a great gift from mothers to daughters, and vice versa, or from friend to friend. I recommend it for those who wish to learn how to “mother” themselves gently and supportively. So, for instance, if you have an overactive inner critic in your head, this book would make a great little guide for you to navigate your life with more cheerful acceptance and optimism.

———————————————–

Inspiring, heartwarming, practical advice, January 7, 2014

By Danny Wall – See all my reviews

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

This was a book that was an absolute joy to read. Inspiring, heartwarming advice that directly applies to daily life. I absolutely recommend this book.

——————————————

a wonderful tribute, June 14, 2013

By my3angels (usa) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

This wonderful book is a touching tribute to Ms Perron’s Mother and how through her teachings, she is being kept alive through her daughter, granddaughters and future generations who will benefit greatly from such an amazing and wise woman. Ms. Perron writes from the heart and anyone who reads this will walk away feeling a little more enlightened as to how to look at life. The artwork is uplifting as well. It is a perfect gift from mothers to their children or just for yourself!

———————————

A Definite Read and REREAD!, June 4, 2013

By Christine – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

I enjoyed this book! Thought provoking in a kind, gentle, encouraging way. I will definitely reread chapters as they pertain to my everyday self improvement journey. I enjoyed it so much that I also purchased it for my Kindle and another for a gift 🙂

——————————————

New Author, May 19, 2013

By SR – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

Thought provoking, inspirational book with drawings by the artist.

A good complement to her daily advice blog on facebook.

Highly recommended!!!

Wise Words That Help, May 18, 2013

By S. A “HDTV Obsessed” (NE US) – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

There was something very comforting yet also constructive as I read through the pages. We’re all so easily lost in this world and Ms. Perron has definitely found her way bringing us along her journey. I have kept this book by my bedside in the week since it arrived and there it shall stay. Recommended!!!

———————————

Motivational and Inspirational. A must read for everyone!, March 5, 2014

By Susan Alexander – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

I loved how every word in it resonated within me. Genie Lee Perron made me think, laugh, cry, relax and question how I approach my own life and the way I view things. I love the illustrations. I took a few minutes to admire each one of them before moving on to the next chapter.

One of my favorite lines in the book – “Think about, dream about and talk about all the juicy, wonderful, phenomenal, earth shaking, toe curling, howling things that bring you joy!”

A truly amazing read and a great author.

I highly recommend this book!!!!

===========================

A Must-Read for Everyone, April 1, 2014
By Fiona Ingram “Fiona Ingram, Author” (Johannesburg, South Africa) – See all my reviews

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said . . . (or maybe she did) (Paperback)

This book is a must-read. It is about physical and spiritual healing, how to live and appreciate your life. It is simple, short, filled with meaningful suggestions and information, and illustrated so beautifully by the author herself. I loved the images; they inspired laughter, joy, and took me back to a wonderful space in childhood that I think we would all like to experience again. Genie Lee Perron is not a new-age guru, living a fabulous Hollywood, problem-free life and dispensing clever advice. Her life is real, and she has battled almost insurmountable health problems, things that the average person cannot imagine facing. Her mother’s words resonated in her mind constantly as a source of wisdom and inspiration; simplistic perhaps, when one reads so many uber-clever self-help books, but in that simplicity is the wisdom of ages.

Each section is prefaced with a wonderful saying by either a world leader, or a person one can totally respect, people who have earned their spiritual stripes. The chapters are short and offer a personal viewpoint from the author’s experience, and then some tips. As you read, you’ll remember at least one of your grandparents or parents giving you this advice. The author encourages us to focus on things we have forgotten in the hurly-burly of this “me-me-me” world, with so much aggression, negativity, and rampant selfishness. To change the world we must change ourselves. The author advises us to look within, for therein lies the answer, the key to the joy, peace, happiness, fulfilment, love, and serenity we deserve.

We have forgotten how to be grateful for what we have, how to be patient, how to listen to others, how to do so many things possibly considered old-fashioned these days. The author just points us back in the right direction. We can change everything about our lives by seeing things from a different perspective. There is no magic, apart from the magic of life itself; no clever techniques such as contained between the pages of thick ‘looks hard to read’ books; no special meditative skills required. It’s just about getting back to the basics of life itself, loving oneself in the right way, and learning how to see things in a more expansive, open way.

Like Genie, I lost a best friend when my mother passed away; like Genie, I feel her close; I remember her advice; I remember and appreciate her love. I’m not a self-help book enthusiast and I generally never read those kinds of books. In my opinion, we must help ourselves. Yet this book came at an opportune time for me. It restored my belief in the ‘old-fashioned’ values I grew up with and told me that they are the only valid means of dealing with what life throws at you. This is a book for everyone of all ages, and especially for those who lost a great friend in a parent.

=============================

MUCH NEEDED REMINDER!, March 29, 2014

By Joss Landry – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

This review is from: Things I Wish my Mother had Said… (or maybe she did) (Kindle Edition)

Personally, I have read many, many such books, from Eckhart Tolle to Dr. Wayne Dyer and just too many others to name. Yet, even though we believe we have attained a new place of awareness, and measure life around us as a safe place to be, here comes Genie Lee Perron toting different words and a new perspective to rejuvenate our soul batteries and better light our path through the chaos too easily found along the way.

Living in the NOW is a wonderful prompt, as is not fretting over past deeds. I need someone to remind me now and again, and being a proponent of Ho’oponopono, I believe in loving the child within and fostering a meditation of gratitude toward the simplest things we find. I was thrilled to discover how well aligned Genie Lee and I are in our thoughts. I am in great company. Check it out:

Genie received her Bachelor of Science in Education from Bridgewater State College in 1986. She has been a teacher, optometric assistant, tutor, homemaker. Since, her diagnosis of leukemia in 2000, Genie has been an avid student of holistic health and meditation. She is a Reiki Master /Teacher.

One of my favorite lessons in Genie Lee’s book is Intention Writing or Scripting. I had completely forgotten about this. As a child, I maintained a diary for fifteen years–fifteen agendas hidden in the back of my closet. I no longer have to worry about anyone reading them as they are illegible, even to me–my handwriting being worse than that of a doctor’s prescription. Nevertheless, these scribbles were about the past, what had happened to me throughout the day. I’m now going to head to the store and purchase the nicest writing agenda I can find and … wow, guess what I’m going to do? Genie Lee Perron’s `Things I Wish my Mother had Said …’ is a MUST READ!